Directive Board

Joaquim Cabral (IBB-IST) (Director of the PhD Program)
Jonathan Dordick (RPI)
Manuel Carrondo (IBET-ITQB)
Carmo Fonseca (IMM)
António Jacinto (CEDOC)


Scientific Committee

Cláudia Lobato da Silva (IBB-IST)
Paula Alves (IBET-ITQB)
Domingos Henrique (IMM)
António Jacinto (CEDOC)

Management Committee

Margarida Diogo (IBB-IST)
Margarida Serra (IBET-ITQB)
Alexandra Manaia (IMM)
Marta Carapuço (CEDOC)

External Supervisory Committee

The international PhD Program doctoral program will be periodically evaluated and advised by an External Supervisory Committee comprised of academic and clinical international leaders supporting excellence in research and education:


Robert M. Nerem,
PhD, External Supervisory Committee Chair
Director, Georgia Tech & Emory Center for Regenerative Medicine
Parker H. Petit Distinguished Chair for Engineering in Medicine, Institute Professor, and
Founding Director of the Parker H. Petit Institute for Bioengineering and Bioscience Georgia Institute of Technology, USA


Marco Costa
Director, Center for Research & Innovation, University Hospitals Case Medical Center,
Cardiovascular Research Institute,
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio 44106-7290, USA


Oliver Brustle
Director, Institute of Reconstructive Neurobiology
University of Bonn, Germany